No. Colorado has what’s known as an at-fault car insurance system. This means the person who caused the accident (the at-fault party) is legally responsible (liable in legal terms) for paying injury victims for their accident-related expenses.
Generally, this means the at-fault driver’s insurance company compensates you for your accident-related expenses, although other parties can be liable in some circumstances.
What type of car insurance is required in Colorado?
Colorado requires all drivers licensed in the state to have car insurance. The mandatory minimum car insurance requirements for Colorado are sometimes referred to as 25/50/15, which refers to different minimum amounts of insurance:
- $25,000 per person for injury-related expenses, other than medical bills for the insurance policyholder.
- $50,000 per accident for injury expenses for two or more people injured in an accident, not including the policyholder’s own medical expenses.
- $15,000 per accident for property damage, including money to repair vehicle damage.
What optional car insurance is available in Colorado?
In Colorado, drivers can choose to purchase additional insurance beyond the state’s mandatory minimum car insurance requirements, including:
- Collision coverage, which provides money to pay for vehicle repairs due to a collision, regardless of who is at fault. This is optional by law but usually required by the lienholder for financed vehicles.
- Comprehensive insurance, which pays for damage in situations other than motor vehicle collisions. Such events can include weather-related incidents, vandalism, theft, or collisions with animals.
- Medical payment coverage, also known as "MedPay," which offers compensation for medical expenses and funeral-related expenses as a result of a collision on a no-fault basis.
- Uninsured/Underinsured Motorist (UM/UIM) coverage, which pays for your damages if your accident is caused by a driver who does not have insurance or doesn’t have enough to pay for the full cost.