Arizona law requires drivers to have a minimum amount of car insurance. The types of car insurance policies in Arizona typically include:
- Bodily injury liability coverage at a minimum of $25,000 per person and $50,000 per accident.
- Property damage liability coverage at a minimum of $15,000.
Uninsured and underinsured (UM/UIM) motorist coverage and Medical Payments (MedPay) are optional in Arizona. If you choose not to carry UM/UIM, you must reject it in writing.
If you were injured in a crash caused by a negligent driver, their insurance company is obligated to pay for your damages. However, it’s not as simple as it sounds. Insurance companies are often reluctant to pay the full extent of damages and often use tactics to keep their costs down.
The best way to deal with the other driver’s car insurance company is to avoid speaking to them. Anything you say can be taken out of context and perceived as admitting fault. Plus, they will likely ask trick questions. If you provide an answer, it could potentially hurt your chances of getting compensated.
Let an experienced Arizona car accident lawyer handle all communications and negotiations. With an attorney on your side, the insurance company can’t take advantage of you.