A: When you’re involved in a car accident, you should first check yourself and others for injuries. If necessary to avoid another collision, move your vehicle to a safe location. You should always call the police and report the crash. While waiting for the police, exchange contact and insurance details with the other parties involved. Also, take pictures of the crash scene and seek prompt medical attention, even if you feel fine.
A: You do need to report your crash to your insurance company. Even then, it’s important to stick to the basic facts. Anything you say can be used to hurt your claim. Otherwise, you’ll need an experienced attorney to handle all communications with insurance companies to counter the tactics they use to reduce their payout or deny claims altogether.
A: If you’re involved in a crash with an uninsured driver, you can still receive compensation. Maine requires all motorists to carry uninsured/underinsured motorist (UI/UM) coverage. UI/UM acts as a safety net and covers your medical costs, lost wages, and property damages related to your crash. The minimum coverage in Maine is $50,000 per person and $100,000 per accident.